33

I don’t know about ten of the people who wished me a Happy Birthday on Facebook this morning.

I’m not saying that’s a bad thing. Everyone enjoys a flooded timeline on their birthday to see who did (and, more interestingly, didn’t) wish them a Happy Birthday.

I’m just not into my birthday. Don’t get me wrong. I appreciate all the gifts and phone calls. My mother called me this morning and asked why I was at work on my birthday. I responded swiftly, and more than likely curtly, “because it’s Tuesday.” I really enjoy the NCAA Basketball Championship more than my birthday. I’m certain I’m not the only one.

I’m not going to go all Adele here. My life is incredible and I’m doing exactly what I wanted to do since I was a freshman in high school. Not many folks can say that with a straight face. (Although if I did write a couple of songs, maybe I could walk away with six Grammys. Oh well.)

I can watch any Orioles game behind home plate with more leg room than first class and an unlimited supply of soda and popcorn. It’s virtually the idea of heaven for the 10-year-old inside of all of us. I only went to a handful of games in the last few seasons. I have a season pass for all Maryland athletics and have never stepped foot in Comcast Center. I attended my first Loyola basketball game over the weekend and can’t get over the incredible atmosphere at Reitz Arena. I haven’t paid for a ticket anywhere in about seven years. I’m completely and totally spoiled.

Oh, and I get paid for it.

I just prefer my HDTV and Twitter at home. I can hear my followers say that I enjoy Twitter a little too much.

I appreciate all of you for reading my blog. Whether this is the first time you’ve clicked on my red sweater, or if you’ve followed from day one, I’m completely amazed that anyone wants to read my thoughts and I thank all of you sincerely.

The focus shifts back to sports in the next entry.

Get an instant “Dash of Dachille” on Twitter. Follow him at WBALDash. You can also “like” Dash on Facebook. Just search “Dash of Dachille.”

One Response

  1. I’ll take those Comcast passes…..

Leave a Reply

