What A Twit

Hello.

My name is Chris and I’m addicted to Twitter.

That felt good.

Webster defines the word addiction as “a compulsive need for and use of a habit-forming substance characterized by tolerance and by well-defined physiological symptoms upon withdrawal.”

Yeah, it’s not exactly the worst addiction in the world.

I check my Twitter timeline in the morning, at work and in bed on my BlackBerry. I’m sure I’m not the only one. Most of my tweets revolve around the world of sports, but some are just plain wacky. Have I tweeted song lyrics? Yup. Do I tweet opinions of how a network covers an event? You betcha. Have I taken a TwitPic of the coffee spread at the U.S. Open golf tournament this year? Perhaps I shouldn’t answer that one.

I admit I’ve come late to the party on this one. Twitter displays the best and worst of people. Journalists rely on this service to get breaking news. (I hope and pray they confirm with a source before making someone’s tweet the lead story.) The majority of politicians, athletes, celebrities and just about everyone has a Twitter account. It’s the way we do business now – 140 characters at a time. You can get duped on Twitter. Folks can write whatever they want without an editor. It’s always fun to count the spelling errors on a tweet.

I’ve met some fascinating people on Twitter. Some folks I’ve met in real life, some I haven’t. It’s amazing how small the world becomes at times. I’ve worked at this TV station for almost a decade and rely heavily on a video service that provides highlights to games. Little did I know for a couple of months that I was following and communicating with one of the producers from that service in New York.  I’ve received tweets and re-tweets from folks you’ve actually heard of in the media and elsewhere.  That’s a fairly cool experience.

Twitter gives people a place to promote, vent, argue, laugh and use a million emoticons. It’s a digital marketplace that puts you in control. You can follow whomever you wish. You can tweet as often as you like. (Yeah, I tweet way too much. ) You are an equal with everyone else and act as your own boss.

You can also follow me on Twitter. I’m WBALDash. Nice to meet you.

Get an instant “Dash of Dachille” on Twitter. Follow him at WBALDash. You can also “like” Dash on Facebook. Just search “Dash of Dachille.”

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

