Waiting For The Start

Around 6:30 on Saturday night, I landed once again in my comfort zone.

For the 15th consecutive first Saturday in May, I failed to cash a winninng ticket in the Kentucky Debry. Actually that’s not completely true. I did bet Eight Belles across the board, but she didn’t make the victory party. Sadly, she ran too good of a race and lost her life on the backstretch of Churchill Downs.

This year I bet the day before – something I rarely do – and it turned out to bite me in the hoof. Instead of anticipating a sloppy track, I thought Churchill would run fast early Saturday evening.

Whoops.

Let’s just say I’ll wait until 10 minutes before post time to wager on the 135th Preakness Stakes.

With just 10 days before they break at Pimlico, we only know of one horse that will certainly make the trip to Old Hilltop. That’s the Derby winner, Super Saver, and his chance to make history with a Triple Crown run.

It looks like a full field of 14 will take off in Maryland’s most important day of racing.

The fun gets started next week when the horses and trainers invade the Stakes Barn at Pimlico. Starting Wednesday, I’ll be posting frequent updates about all the events that lead up to the 135th running of the Preakness Stakes.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

